Training and Events (14-20 September 2014)

Sunday

5k East Anglian Air Ambulance Runway Run in the morning.  This felt hard.  I’m not sure why that was – the long run with Linda on Thursday, a rough course over grass with a few inclines and some wind – or whether I was unfairly comparing my time/effort with some of my better Parkruns which are on much easier terrain.  Anyway, my chip time was 26:24 which was a minute inside the bronze standard time that I was aiming for – so job done.  And it was a nice event too with a fabulous goodie bag.

40 miles on the bike with the Dandy Horse guys in the evening.  This was a fun ride and it was good to be able to get out after missing the VCN Club Ride in the morning.  My legs were tired and they complained a bit on the hills but I’m glad I went and I’d probably go again on another occasion if I was unable to get out for the morning ride.  It’s good that there are more and more possibilities for people to get out and ride with a group.

Monday

Rest day.

Tuesday

NRR efforts on the field.  The efforts sessions are always worth going to and provide an effective and fun workout whilst taking up very little of the evening.  This week we had the annual club photo so we were a bit later getting out on the field.  The session was run by Richard High and was a pyramid session.  I am never exactly sure how hard to push myself for the effort bits but I suppose 5k PB pace is probably ideal ie 8 minute/miles.  But really I have to go by feel as I can’t be peeping at my watch whilst running around the field and very soon it will be too dark to see my watch anyway.

Wednesday

Rest day.

Thursday

Long run with Linda and Mark in the evening – 12 miles this week.  I hadn’t been feeling very up for it all day, the weather was warm and I felt a bit slumpy.  Linda said the same.  Once I got started I felt better but this was a hard run.  Mark was good at keeping us to pace (10’30 min/mile) but by 9 miles we were tiring and walked up a few hills in the last mile or so.  But we did do it.  I felt a bit weird though later in the evening  – got up to unload the dishwasher and felt very faint so had to slump back on the sofa.  I don’t think I am great at these distance efforts even when I run them at a nice easy pace.  Next week we are doing 14 miles but are doing the Marriotts Way so at least that will cut out the hills.  After that I think we taper.  I hope so anyway.

Friday

Rest day.  And I needed it!

Saturday

Rest day

Thoughts

It is hard to balance the time spent on cycling and running without worrying that fitness in one is compromising that in another.  At the moment I am focusing on running because of the half-marathon (now less than a month away!) and last week I turned down the opportunity for a nice brisk evening ride with Jess because I didn’t want my legs to be too tired to do the long run.  I did cycle on the Brompton Monday-Friday (59 miles in total) but that was it for cycling other than the Dandy Horse ride on Sunday.

Total mileage

Running 17.8 miles

Cycling 100 miles

Aims for next week

To make sure I get plenty of rest before the long run at the end of the week

Concentrate on running rather than cycling

5 thoughts on “Training and Events (14-20 September 2014)

  1. It is good to have someone to run the longer runs with….. I struggle with these a bit on my own so it was so good when I came a did the 13 miles with you 🙂 Also i always intended to give up my biking for a few months to concentrate on my running but when it came to it i just could not do that so happy that i have been able to manage both and improve …….

  2. Yes, you have done really well at balancing the running and biking – improving in both at the same time. Doing the long runs with Linda is great – the time does go quicker with someone to chat to – and Mark is great at making sure we don’t go off too quickly. I couldn’t give up the cycling either and I do think that doing both is good – cycling does help to stretch the running muscles and vice versa. I just have to keep the cycling in moderation whilst I am doing these long runs as I do find them hard. But all is good and I’m enjoying it all.

  3. I think you’re doing brilliantly at running but I’m looking forward to you getting back on the bike with me….solo rides are not as enjoyable and feel much more painful!

    • Yes, I am missing those nice fast rides with you too, Jess. Weird though it sounds, I am really keen for us to have a go at all those city hill segments! It will be fun I think (well, fun in a painful sort of way!!).

Leave a Reply

